top of page

Top Ten Holy Grail Makeup Products


Everyone has makeup that they can't live without! The products you buy over and over again because they make you feel and look so good. This post will outline some of my favourite make up items that I will scour the city for when I run out.

Brows

I'm not super big on making sure I have brows that look like they were mircobladed on each day, so

for more of a natural look where you can still see the brow hairs and things are not as perfect as they could be, these two products work wonders! The NYX Micro Brow Pencil in the shade Taupe is great with its consistent formula that's not too pigmented and built in spooly brush . The NYX Tinted Brow Mascara is another great find since it helps fill in the brows making them thicker and maintain their shape throughout the day without things looking too unnatural. Together these products are my holy grail for my brows!

Eye Primer

If you've got oily lids, then this NYX Eyeshadow Base is the primer for you. It's such a pain to buy high end eye shadows only to have them crease, gather up and just disappear off of your lids in general because your lids are practically an oil slick an hour into the day. This primer completely gets rid of that problem! Primers that are light and gel like in texture do nothing for me, but this thick and pigmented little pot has done wonders for my eyeshadow game! The only down side to this primer is that it does tend to feel a little heavy during the day, but the results are deffinetly worth it!

Mascara

After hearing almost every beauty guru on Youtube talk about this mascara, I had to go try it for myself. (Even though this can often be a struggle in Canada). The L'oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise is hands down the best mascara I've ever used! I got the shade Blackest Black and until Youtube goes nuts over another drugstore mascara, I'm not changing it up! This stuff lasts all day, doesn't flake, doesn't smudge and makes your lashes HUGE. The thick brush adds lots of volume and spreads your lashes out nice and evenly while applying lots of product. This mascara also adds lots of length, especially when applying two coats.

Eyeliner

The NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk is a makeup basic. This pencil is so versatile being used as an eye primer, a inner corner or brow highlight, or as a liner for the waterline to brighten and open up the eyes. The formula lasts fairly well throughout the day and the size of the pencil makes it great for doing tiny detail work or covering large areas quickly.

Setting Powder

Loose setting powders are few and far between at the drug store, making this Cover Girl Professional Loose Powder in Translucent Light a great find. You get a lot of product in this little jar and even though it says "translucent" on the package, it does add some coverage if you're applying it either on its own, or over foundation. It sets the face flawlessly when I apply it with a damp sponge, melting it into the skin, and has a nice blurring effect that looks fantastic. The only downside of this product is that it has quite the floral sent to it, which can be a bit difficult to get past, but even with my extremely sensitive skin, the scent doesn't irritate me. The powder also has a micro glitter in it, which doesn't show up on the face under any normal circumstances, but if you are in specific lighting, things can get a little bit sparkly.

Brushes

I'm not really sure what I would do without the Morphe M439, Morphe M505 and the Moprhe M508. Though I have lots of other brushes in my collection, (nothing fancy), these are some staple brushes that I couldn't get through my morning without. The M439 is a really dense, but soft kabuki brush that works wonders for liquid foundation. For whatever reason I use it damp because it works better with my delicate skin, but it leaves a wonderful streak free finish and is the perfect size for large areas and getting into the small spaces on the face.

The M505 and M508 are some of the only brushes that I use for my eyes . The fluffy blending brush is super versatile and blends out even the most stubborn shadows to perfection. The tiny little smudged brush is perfect for doing anything under the bottom lashes and I even use it to apply a darker coloured shadow to my upper lash line to make my lashes look fuller. Morphe is marketed as a super cheap, but great quality brand which is true, unless you live in Canada. Unfornetly the only place to get these brushes is online and after shipping and the dollar difference, these brushes go from a great deal, to more Sephora-esque prices which is really unfortunate. Maybe we will get a Morphe store in Toronto soon???

Highlight

No look is complete without a dose of highlight, and if your a fan of the more blinding variety, you will love this Solstice Highlighting Pallet by Sleek Makeup. Sleek is a drug store brand in the UK, but nothing about this product says drug store. The packaging is stunning, and all three of the formulas in this little guy are perfection. My personal favourite is the champagne coloured baked highlight which goes with everything and looks fantastic all over the face. You can see my full review of this pallet HERE on my blog!

Jess Moffitt 

I am a 20 something Canadian Public Relations and Communications student who has a passion for the creative and pretty things in life! Join me as I share my ideas and tips as a budding crafter and career woman in Studio Blue! 

  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
CURRENTLY CRAVING
bottom of page